What Are The 7 Main Chakras

What Are The 7 Main Chakras

The seven most important Chakras are…..

  • Muladhara
  • Svodisthana
  • Manipura
  • Anahata
  • Vishuddha
  • Ajna chakra
  • Sahasrara


These seven chakras are linked to the seven most important planets of our solar system. The strong link between astrology and the human chakras is very important.

The planetary position makes an influence on the chakras energy level and this manipulates our physical and mental state. Due to this state our mental and physical ability changes accordingly in different results that often equal luck or faith. Human chakras were first mentioned in Indian tradition. Yoga literature and ancient Egyptian literature used to explain the importance of Chakras.

The most amazing aspect of the Chakra lies in the fact that it is universal. Human chakra is not only specific to Hinduism and Buddhism but it is available to any religion ranging from Christianity, Islam, etc. Chakra is not only specific to Asian countries but it is common to any part of this globe.

The ancient sages thought that the human body is the perfect representation of the Universe and in many aspects they were not wrong because the human body is an amazing machine and the human brain is the most complex structure in the known Universe. The points on the body that are represented by the Chakras are crossed by energy and this energy is the energy from the Cosmos.

Chakras in Yoga According to the ancient teachings as we breathe (Prana) air is drawn and distributed across the body through a multitude of nerves. Among the 14 major strong points of our muscles three are fundamental in Chakras and these are: sushumna nadi, pingala nadi and ida nadi.

Ida is in the left of the spine and pingala is in the spine. Sushmna is in the spinal cord in the center of the seven Chakras. Hindu, Upanishad and Kundalini mention that Chakras are fundamental for the human development.

The Upanishads have described this mysterious force of the Universe in the 7th century B.C. and the snake is one of the oldest symbols used by the humans to express the good and evil that exists in this world. There is also a strong correlation between the double coiled snakes that stay around the Chakras.

Indian medicine has been referring it to as the male and the female snake that surround the chakra in order to form a balance between the power center of the body. It is kind of remarkable to realize that even Christianity may have been influenced by this ancient concept.