Wiccans Celebrate 8 Times Per Year

Witches Celebrate 8 Times Per Year

Being a Wiccan is not all about rituals and spells. It’s also about spirituality and celebrations. There are 8 main holidays throughout the year that the Wiccans celebrate, namely Samhain, Yule, Imbolc, Ostara, Beltane, Litha and Lughnasadh, Lammas and Mabon. Each is charged with a special kind of energy that marks an astronomical cycle, seasons or agricultural labors. All this knowledge is not optional for a true Wiccan because it involves consciousness and respect towards tradition and nature.

1. Samhain

Samhain is celebrated on October 31st. It is believed that the barrier between the world of the living and the world of the dead is very thin during that night. Wiccans encourage dialogue with the loved ones who have passed, but they also believe that revengeful spirits come back in the world of the living seeking justice. The usage of white and blue candles is encouraged for purification and for peace-seeking spirits.

2. Yule

Yule is celebrated during the winter solstice. The significance of this celebration is the rebirth of God and nature. This is the shortest day of the year, but at the same time, it marks the beginning of Sun’s increasing power.

3. Imbolc

Imbolc is celebrated on February 2nd and 3rd and it represents the feast of the Earth Goddess. The ceremonies traditionally take place in the mountains because they are meant to build a connection between man and earth. Mother Nature is the one who nourishes, protects and cares but if it is not respected and honored, it can become destructive.

4. Ostara

Ostara is celebrated during the spring equinox. This is the day when night and light are equal, which symbolically means that good and evil are in perfect balance. This is also a celebration related to agriculture, richness, fertility and so on. This can be celebrated in groups or individually.

5. Beltane

Beltane is celebrated on May 1st and it is also known as the Feast of Fire. The fifth Sabbath begins at sundown and ends at sunrise. As the name says, this holiday is all about fire, which heals, purifies and provides protection. People make a big fire and dance around it where the environment and weather allows them to.

6. Litha and Lughnasadh

Litha and Lughnasadh are celebrated during the summer solstice. After Samhain, Wiccans consider this the most important holiday. This is because it is dedicated to the Spirits of Nature. You can offer sweets, sugar, honey or cake as gifts for these spirits.

7. Lammas

Lammas begins at sunset on August 1st and ends the next day at dawn. This night has a special significance because it is a perfect opportunity to initiate engagements and marriages. It is believed that the energies of the Universe are
much more powerful.

8. Mabon

Mabon takes place during the autumn equinox and it is dedicated to spiritual preparation. Wiccans should be ready for the next big Sabbath, Samhain. At the same time, it is a holiday meant to show gratitude for the fruits of nature received throughout the year.